Beyond the Brunette

Well hello again! I was planning to come back tonight to talk about why Beyond the Brunette was started, and also the meaning behind the title! So here goes nothing:

I started “Beyond the Brunette” as a reminder to myself and others that true beauty goes beyond what is on the outside.

In my opinion, true beauty goes beyond hair color; it goes beyond what make-up you’re wearing or what clothes you decide to put on in the morning.

To me, the most beautiful people are those who are fully and completely happy with themselves, something that can only be achieved beginning on the inside. The most attractive people in the room are always the ones with a smile–and a genuine one, at that!

True beauty and radiance come from within, and it is this idea that I hope to encapsulate throughout my various blog posts.

I’m a total girly-girl, though, so that’s not to say that you won’t hear me talking about my hair and nails from time to time, or that I don’t love dressing up just as much as the next girl!

dressy

So what can you expect to see on here?

Food!

I love to eat. Doesn’t everyone? All the sounds and smells and flavors and textures, and the way food looks when it comes out all served up on pretty plates…What I don’t always love about food is the way it makes me feel when I overindulge. Definitely not beautiful from the inside out. Because of this, I try to make healthy substitutions wherever I can. Even just little substitutions here and there, like replacing half of the white flour in a recipe for whole grain, can go a long way in the way I feel after eating! Despite all this, however, life is all about balance and moderation, and everyone loves  a treat sometimes! So don’t hold me to the fact that every food post will be about 100% healthy foods, please (:

Exercise

Aggh I’m not quite sure if I love exercise or hate it, but I love food so I think I’m kind of forced to love exercise. Exercise is one of the easiest ways to get that inner happiness going on–it works fantastically as an all-day mood boost! I love running, and so you can expect to see many-a-run posts, as well as the occasional strength work/stretching posts–though most of them will probably be followed by complaints!

Wellness/Health posts

To me,”wellness” and “health” mean completely different things, though I love both of them and you can expect to see a lot about each on here! In my opinion, health indicates a more physical approach to well-being–stuff like how much sleep you need, how many times a day you should eat, etc. Wellness, on the other hand (which is probably my favorite topic!) is all that good psychological-y stuff–more mental health than physical. My wellness posts will include topics like the importance of forgiveness, living in the present, and more!

DIY fun stuff!

I’m a huge fan of making anything you can make at home…at home! I don’t normally do much of this out of sheer lack of time, but I’m determined to do more! It’s much more satisfying and can even be healthier when you make a typically-store-bought product at your house.

My ramblings.

I don’t even know what to say about this one, except that I truly do apologize in advance…

My goal for this blog is to be as open and honest about my life as possible, and also to use it as a way to find my own happiest inner state!
I strive to both live and encourage a healthy lifestyle, and a lifestyle in which one can truly feel happy from the inside out. And no, a healthy lifestyle isn’t just about looking hot in that bikini, or even about making the right food choices all the time. There are so many different facets and components to it, and ultimately, the key to living a healthy lifestyle is living the life that makes you the happiest.

Lots of love,

Liz

P.S.: Anyone know any tips on how to actually get, um, readers? They seem kind of important in this whole blogosphere thing, and yet I seem kinda lacking in such (:

I would love love love for you to leave me a comment!

